Top of the World

St. Moritz is one of the most famous holiday destinations in the world. It name is protected as a quality brand which stands globally for style, sport and class.

There are some places in the world which are simply different from all the others. Merely the mention of their names awaken longing and conjure up vivid images. One may like them, or then again not – but they leave no one indifferent. St. Moritz is just such a place. A genuine holiday classic. For it was here at 1,856 metres above sea level, amidst the magical lake region of the Upper Engadine, that winter holidays were invented and the Olympic Winter Games were held on two occasions. Switzerland’s first electric light, its first ski school and its first electrically-powered trams also figure among the many pioneering deeds in the long list of St. Moritz accomplishments. But lest it be overlooked – the origins of the importance of St. Moritz lie in the healing quality of its mineral springs, known for nigh on 3,000 years.

Alpine life-style at its best

Today St. Moritz is the worldwide number one among mountain-holiday destinations. A guarantee for leisure and sporting activities in a class of their own, cultural highlights, exclusive shops and events of world standing. Furthermore, guests can choose from a range of renowned top hotels and outstanding restaurants. The atmosphere is cosmopolitan and the famed St. Moritz sun, which shines on average on 322 days of the year, legendary.

Protected as a brand

The St. Moritz sun and lettering trademark have served for more than 80 years to identify the world’s most famous winter-holiday destination. In 1930 they replaced the symbol of the snow bunny used at the time and today form the oldest tourism logo still in use. The sun in four variations came under legal protection as early as 1937, the lettering in 1986 as the first place name in the world to be registered as such.

www.stmoritz.ch

Top of the World

St. Moritz ist einer der bekanntesten Ferienorte der Welt. Sein Name ist als Qualitätsmarke geschützt und steht weltweit für Stil, Sport und Klasse.

Es gibt Orte auf der Welt, die sind einfach anders als alle anderen. Sie wecken allein mit dem Namen Sehnsüchte und entfachen ein Kopfkino. Man mag sie oder nicht - aber sie lassen niemanden kalt. St. Moritz ist so ein Ort. Ein echter Ferienklassiker. Schliesslich sind hier, auf 1856 m ü. M. und inmitten der faszinierenden Oberengadiner Seenregion, die Winterferien erfunden und die Olympischen Winterspiele zwei Mal ausgetragen worden. Das erste elektrische Licht, die erste Skischule oder die erste elektrische Strassenbahn des Landes sind weitere Pioniertaten, die sich in eine lange Liste von St. Moritzer Errungenschaften einreihen. Und dennoch: St. Moritz verdankt seine Bedeutung ursprünglich seinen Heilquellen, die seit gut 3'000 Jahren bekannt sind. 

Alpiner Lebensstil at its best

Heute ist St. Moritz die weltweite Nummer Eins unter den Feriendestinationen in den Bergen. Garant für aussergewöhnliche Freizeit- und Sportangebote, kulturelle Highlights, exklusive Shoppingmöglichkeiten und Events von Weltformat. Dazu finden Gäste hier eine international renommierte Spitzen-Hotellerie und ausgezeichnete Restaurants. Das Ambiente ist kosmopolitisch und die berühmte St. Moritzer Sonne, die durchschnittlich an 322 Tagen im Jahr scheint, legendär. 

Als Marke geschützt

Die St. Moritzer Markenzeichen Sonne und Schriftzug dienen seit über 80 Jahren zur Erkennung der weltweit bekanntesten Winterferien-Destination. Sie ersetzten 1930 das damalige Schneehasen-Symbol und sind heute die ältesten noch verwendeten touristischen Markenzeichen überhaupt. Die Sonne wurde bereits 1937 in vier Varianten gesetzlich geschützt, der Schriftzug 1986 - als erster Ortsname der Welt, der als solcher registriert werden konnte.

www.stmoritz.ch